Tel: +44(0)2032876013 / Email:

Malta Individual Investor Programme

The Malta Individual Investor programmes is a EU citizenship programme whereby applicants are required to contribute in a government fund, invest in real estate and government securities. Malta is a country located in the centre of the Mediterranean Sea just south of Italy. It is known to be a safe and stable country as it has one of the lowest crime rates within Europe.

  • Citizenship from a well-respected EU country.
  • Visa free travel to over 166 countries, including the EU and Canada.
  • Stable and growing economy
  • Malta citizenship provides you the right to live and work within the EU.
  • Limited taxation including no income tax on foreign income.
  • Dual citizenship is accepted in Malta.
  • There are no language requirements.
  • HSBC Malta and Bank of Valletta are two of the largest banks in Malta.
  • Malta is the smallest country in the EU.
  • Malta is home to ancient Megalithic Temples that were built over 5000 years ago.
  • The population of Malta is approximately 410,000.
  • The state comprises of 3 islands: Malta, Gozo and Comino.
  • The official languages are English and Maltese.
  • Malta is considered as a high income country by the International Monetary Fund.
  • Malta has one of the lowest unemployment rates in the EU.
  • The tourism sector is known to generate 15% of the gross domestic value for Malta.
  • Malta is known to receive approximately over 2 million tourists every year.
  • Malta is the member of the EU and the euro is used as the official currency in the country.

Download Your Free Factsheet

Want to know more? Read our free Malta Factsheet for more information.

By submitting, you agree to our Privacy Policy

Request a call back from AIM Capital Partners


The following investments and fees shall be required for the Malta Individual Investor Programme:

Single Applicant

  • Contribution Amount: €650,000
  • Real Estate Investment: €350,000
  • Government Securities Investment: €150,000
  • Due Diligence Fees: €7,500
  • Passport Fees: €500

Main Applicant and Spouse

  • Contribution Amount: €675,000
  • Real Estate Investment: €350,000
  • Government Securities Investment: €150,000
  • Due Diligence Fees: €12,500
  • Passport Fees: €1000

Family (2 adults & 2 children)

  • Contribution Amount: €725,000
  • Real Estate Investment: €350,000
  • Government Securities Investment: €150,000
  • Due Diligence Fees: €18,500
  • Passport Fees: €2000


Applicants will initially apply for residency in order to start the one year residency requirement. Residency applications are fast-tracked and processed within three weeks for the Malta Citizenship by Investment programme. A formal citizenship application will also be submitted to Identity Malta at this stage.

Identity Malta will check the application documentation and carry out a due diligence check on all the applicants. The checks will approximately take around 4 months.

Providing the client is successful during the due diligence phase, the client will be approved in principle and the outstanding payment for the €650,000 contribution will be required at this stage.

The main applicant will have a deadline of 240 days(approximately 8 months) from the day of submitting the citizenship application to make the real estate and government securities investment. Proof of investment documents will need to submitted before the deadline.

The citizenship unit will generally issue all citizenship documents and passports once the unit is satisfied that the applicant has met all the requirements for the programme.


In order to successfully apply for Malta citizenship, an applicant must meet the following requirements:

  • Applicants should demonstrate a genuine connection with Malta. The applicant should make an effort to visit the island on a regular basis in order to experience the way of life and understand the culture of Maltese citizens. AIM Capital Partners will provide further advice to the applicant on how to meet this requirement.
  • Applicant should not have been rejected a visa from a country, which has a visa free travel agreement with the Republic of Malta. All visa rejections must be disclosed.
  • Applicant must be able to make the full investment amount within the timeframe set by the government.
  • An one year residency requirement will be required in order to successfully apply for citizenship.

A successful applicant will have visa free or visa on arrival access to the following countries:

  • Andorra
  • Albania
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Aruba
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Cayman Islands
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Estonia
  • Falkland Island
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macao
  • Madagascar
  • Macedonia
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Montserrat
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Reunion
  • Romania
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • South Sudan
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Maarten
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Swaziland
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
Thomson Reuters
Michael Leigh
Grenada citizenship by investment

All content copyright © AIM Capital Partners